LibGuides: Mythology: Home

Dive into Research Here!!

Launch your project with an encyclopedia article that will give you a general overview and lots of key words to start you on your way.

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Articles from Encyclopaedia Britannica, related magazine and journal articles, an atlas, and other reference sources.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window Includes five encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window The content of World Book Encyclopedia is available here but with constant updating, special reports, and online links. When you find an article you want, you can e-mail it to yourself or print it.

Library Catalogs

Next check catalogs to see if there are materials on your topic. Not enough? Expand your topic. Too many? Refine your topic.

Help When You Need It!!

Meet the Library Staff

Ms. Wallen, Librarian

Ms. Anderson, Librarian

Ms. Casey, Library Assistant

Ms. Zeytoonian, Library Assistant

Ms. Donnellan, Department Secretary

email us at: lhs-library@lexingtonma.org

We are all here to help you. Just ask!

Databases

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window Explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, and empires and profiles city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient and medieval world; encompasses intellectual developments, wars and cooperation, religion, cultural practices from prehistory through to the beginning of the Renaissance
World Religions (ABC- Clio) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 50 religions practiced throughout the world, including those that have flourished and those that have disappeared. Explores important figures, core beliefs, customs and practices, celebrations and holidays, momentous events, significant and sacred places, and more.
World Geography (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window Focuses on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces that are important in our globalized world.
Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window Teaches history through books and literature; clothing, fashion, and appearance; film; food and drink; music; sports; technology and media; transportation and travel…
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.

Ebooks, Art and More

Salem Press Online

A collection of Salem Press titles including: Great Lives from History, Great Events from History and more.

Oxford Art Online/Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The authority on art from pre-history to present day.
Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
Concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations -- from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Local experts document the unique, intimate details of each country's customs, traditions and daily life.
Digital Theatre This link opens in a new window Watch world class performances from any device. Go behind the scenes for background, history, and criticism.