Skip to main content
"To be persuasive we must be believable; to be believable we must be credible; to be credible we must be truthful." Edward R. Murrow
Check these websites
“Understand the issues. Understand each other."
New York Times compiled information on current and social issues.
Start Here with Suggested Databases
Ask your classroom teacher for the password for the password list to access these databases! Or email the library staff at email@example.com. The password list is located on the library website under the "Online Materials" drop down menu.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Points of View
This database contains a balance of materials that present many different points of view. More than a million articles from sources such as magazines, newspapers, academic journals, primary source materials, radio and TV transcripts, and blogs are included.
Thousands of documents, primary source documents, websites, and multimedia (including 13,000+ research-quality images) represent viewpoints from the pros and cons, to everything in-between.
Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society (ABC-CLIO)
This database provides students with authoritative historical context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources to help them become civil debaters, consider multiple sides of a controversy, and use evidence in developing and supporting their opinions about today's most important issues.
Academic Search Ultimate
Search thousands of academic journals at once. Topics include: Biology; Chemistry; Engineering; Ethnic and multicultural studies; Geology; Law; Mathematics; Music; Pharmaceutical sciences; Psychology; Religion and philosophy; Science and technology; Veterinary science; Women's studies; Zoology
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Ask a Librarian
Stuck? Confused? Want help?
Ask a librarian! We are research and resource experts here to help you with all of your information and research needs.
Come by the library or send us an email firstname.lastname@example.org
We look forward to working with you!
Lexington High School Library Media Center