LibGuides: Junior Research Project: Home

Getting Started with Primary Sources

Start Here!!

Launch your project with an encyclopedia article that will give you a general overview and lots of key words to start you on your way.

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Articles from Encyclopaedia Britannica, related magazine and journal articles, an atlas, and other reference sources.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window Includes five encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window The content of World Book Encyclopedia is available here but with constant updating, special reports, and online links. When you find an article you want, you can e-mail it to yourself or print it.

Consider These Websites

Next Stop Databases

African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window The American Mosaic: The African American Experience gives voice to the African American experience from its African origins to the present day
American Government (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window American Government connects contemporary issues with the foundations of government and compares the political and economic systems of the United States with those of other countries.
American History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window From the earliest explorers of the Americas to today's headlines, American History investigates the people, events and themes of the nation's evolution.
Gale in Context: U.S.History This link opens in a new window Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Search narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content about influential people.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Explore American history through primary source content from complete editions of U.S. newspapers
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Search the full text of The New York Times starting in 1985.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Search thousands of academic journals at once. Topics include: Biology; Chemistry; Engineering; Ethnic and multicultural studies; Geology; Law; Mathematics; Music; Pharmaceutical sciences; Psychology; Religion and philosophy; Science and technology; Veterinary science; Women's studies; Zoology

Salem History This link opens in a new window Collection of Salem Press titles including: Great Events from History; Great Lives from History; Milestone Documents; Weapons & Warfare; Defining Documents in American History; Decades; and, Forensic Science.

Step #3 -Check Library Catalogs

Next check catalogs to see if there are materials on your topic. Not enough? Expand your topic. Too many? Refine your topic.

More Libraries, More Resources!

BPL eResources (History)
Use your BPL eCard to access databases. If you don't have one, sign up below now.
BPL eCard (sign up)
Cary Library eResearch
Databases provided by Cary Library. Use your Cary card.

eBooks & Reference Materials

Salem History This link opens in a new window Collection of Salem Press titles including: Great Events from History; Great Lives from History; Milestone Documents; Weapons & Warfare; Defining Documents in American History; Decades; and, Forensic Science.

U.S. History ebooks from the LHS Library

Reference books from the LHS Library

Help When You Need It!!

Finding Primary Sources Exit Ticket

Please fill out this exit ticket after you locate your primary source!

What is a Primary Source?

“A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event.” (“What is a Primary Source”-Princeton University.)

Examples include: Original Documents such as Letters; Diaries; Memos; News in Print, on Film, in audio; Data; Statistics; Autobiographies; Speeches Interviews; Legal Documents; Laws; Treaties; Maps; Photographs. Creative Works such as Paintings; Music; Lyrics; Poetry; Dramas; Films; Novels. Objects/Artifacts such as Pottery; Clothing; Buildings; any object you can touch.

Analyzing a Primary Source

These slides will walk you through the steps to analyze a primary source.

NoodleTools