Skip to Main Content
The Cold War had become a battlefield marked by doublespeak. Disguise, distortion, and deception were accepted as reality. Truth was promised in a serum.Annie Jacobsen
The Cold War was really the great struggle of the 20th century and it shaped American political life from top to bottom.Jeff Sharlet
"I hope the Russians love their children too" -Sting from the song "Russians" 1985
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Articles from Encyclopaedia Britannica, related magazine and journal articles, an atlas, and other reference sources.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window
Includes five encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science.
Cold War Specific Websites
American Historical Association
Ukraine, Russia, and the Cold War and its Legacies: Resources from the American Historical Association
Cold War Museum
The Cold War Museum is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization dedicated to education, preservation, and research on the global, ideological, and political confrontations between East and West from the end of World War II to the dissolution of the Soviet Union. (description lifted from Columbia College)
Columbia College: Strategies of the Cold War, a Resources Guide
"An Examination of the formulation, implementation, and evolution of American foreign policy doctrines and military planning during the cold war period." links and documents listed.
Council of Foreign Relations
The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries. Founded in 1921, CFR takes no institutional positions on matters of policy.
Wilson Center: Cold War International History Project
The Cold War International History Project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War. Through an award winning Digital Archive, the Project allows scholars, journalists, students, and the interested public to reassess the Cold War and its many contemporary legacies. It is part of the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program.
Wilson Center: Cold War Origins
"This collection of primary source documents discusses international relations during World War II and the years shortly after. It begins with the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact signed in 1939 and ends with documents from the 1950’s. The collection contains a wide variety of documents including agreements, memorandums, meeting minutes, cables, letters, diary entries, and military reports from WWII. The documents mainly come from Russian and Bulgarian archives."
Databases Standard World History
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Provides for comprehensive study of the emergence of the modern world, covering the history of the world from 1500 to the present.
World at War (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Presents overviews of 50 wars, rebellions, and revolutions and provides analysis of causes and consequences and portraits of opponents.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Search narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content about influential people.
Modern Genocide (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Covers 10 modern genocides in depth, shows the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them as well as repeating patterns in history.
Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Collection of Salem Press titles including: Great Events from History; Great Lives from History; Milestone Documents; Weapons & Warfare; Defining Documents in American History; Decades; and, Forensic Science.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of academic journals at once. Topics include: Biology; Chemistry; Engineering; Ethnic and multicultural studies; Geology; Law; Mathematics; Music; Pharmaceutical sciences; Psychology; Religion and philosophy; Science and technology; Veterinary science; Women's studies; Zoology
Databases for more recent history, continuing effects.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Analyzes important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
World Geography (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces that are important in our globalized world.
Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Provides context, diverse perspectives, and selected primary and secondary sources for understanding the issues that currently affect global society.
Lexington High School Library Media Center