Skip to Main Content
I am no longer accepting the things I cannot change . . . I am changing the things I cannot accept. ~Angela Davis
Human Rights Campaign
The Human Rights Campaign envisions a world where every member of the LGBTQ family has the freedom to live their truth without fear, and with equality under the law.
National Organization for Women (NOW)
NOW is a multi-issue, multi-strategy organization that takes a holistic approach to women’s rights. Our priorities are winning economic equality and securing it with an amendment to the U.S. Constitution that will guarantee equal rights for women; championing abortion rights, reproductive freedom and other women’s health issues; opposing racism; fighting bigotry against the LGBTQIA community; and ending violence against women.
Founded in 1909 in response to the ongoing violence against Black people around the country, the NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) is the largest and most pre-eminent civil rights organization in the nation. Our mission is to secure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights in order to eliminate race-based discrimination and ensure the health and well-being of all persons.
Databases...Go here first!
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides insight into social issues by delivering the pros and cons from selected documents and graphics curated from over 2,000 global sources.
Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Provides context, diverse perspectives, and selected primary and secondary sources for understanding the issues that currently affect global society.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
The American Mosaic: The African American Experience gives voice to the African American experience from its African origins to the present day
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Analyzes important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
Be Sure to Cite Your Sources
NoodleTools has a new look and format. DO NOT PANIC!
Tips from the Pros!
If you come across a website that will not let you access information without a "donation"...RUN AWAY!
Lexington High School Library Media Center