LibGuides: 7th Grade: Africa

E-books

Sudan, Darfur and the Nomadic Conflicts by Philip Steele
ISBN: 9781448860685
The different peoples making up Sudan have a long history of ethnic conflict. There has been civil war between the north and the south, as well as conflict among the various ethnic communities and nomadic groups living within these regions. Readers examine the civil unrest that has divided the country for decades, as well as the rebellion and massacres of the Darfur region. Factors contributing to the area's ongoing conflicts, including clashes over oil, water, land, and human rights, are also explored. In addition, future prospects for Sudan and the new Republic of South Sudan, which seceded in July 2011, are discussed.
Life and Culture in Sub-Saharan Africa by Tamra Orr
ISBN: 9781725321755
From conquering a difficult natural environment to fighting in political power struggles, the peoples of Sub-Saharan Africa have met every obstacle with determination. Comprised of 46 countries, this region is also diverse and bountiful with vibrant cultures. This book features fact-filled text that explores and explains this area's cultures. Full-color photographs spotlight the clothes, art, celebrations, and traditions that make Sub-Saharan Africa such a splendid and enduring place.
The History and Government of Sub-Saharan Africa by J. M. Klein
ISBN: 9781725321397
All of human history begins in Sub-Saharan Africa, where scientists believe the first humans lived. Over time, thousands of ethnic groups inhabited the area, creating villages, cities, unique cultures, and governments. This book explores the historical events, movements, and people who have shaped the region of Sub-Saharan Africa over its long and varied history. How did the transatlantic slave trade affect the region? How did colonialism change the existing governments there? Readers will travel to Sub-Saharan Africa through primary sources, informative text, fact-filled sidebars, and breathtaking photographs to find the answers.

SweetSearch

E-books

Health in Contemporary Africa by Derek L. Miller
ISBN: 9781502623782
In our globalized world, diseases originating in Africa have become worldwide concerns. Health in Contemporary Africa examines the illnesses that affect people around the continent, as well as the challenges countries face due to current infrastructure. The book traces the transmission of disease and medical interventions while looking ahead to cutting edge technology and new advances poised to improve lives around Africa.
The Economy in Contemporary Africa by Derek L. Miller; Caitlyn Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781502623751
The economy of modern Africa is characterized by explosive growth and even larger potential. The Economy in Contemporary Africa examines the challenges and opportunities that shape economies around the continent today. The book looks at a range of topics--from oil reserves to entrepreneurship--and places them within a local, regional, and global context to provide a comprehensive view of a key player in the world economy.
The Environment in Contemporary Africa by Laura Byrne Paquet; Caitlyn Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781502623768
The Environment in Contemporary Africa explores the diverse landscapes of Africa's fifty-four countries and the environmental issues that threaten them. The book details familiar concerns, like deforestation, pollution, and climate change, as well as issues unique to the continent. The Environment in Contemporary Africa also demonstrates how the legacy of colonialism has contributed to the environmental problems of today and how creative solutions fuel hope for conservation.
Politics in Contemporary Africa by Bridget Heing; Bridey Heing; Caitlyn Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781502623829
Politics in Contemporary Africa details the governments and political processes that shape the lives of the continent's population. The book places current events such as the Arab Spring into historical context and examines the rapid political change occurring throughout modern-day Africa. Politics in Contemporary Africa provides readers with an understanding of the relationship between African governments and governments around the world.
Human Rights in Contemporary Africa by Anna Maria Johnson; Caitlyn Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781502623805
Human Rights in Contemporary Africa provides an in-depth look at the current state of human rights across the continent. The book explores the obstacles to human rights including the lingering effects of colonialism and imperialism, which led to volatile political situations in many areas. Human Rights in Contemporary Africa profiles activists and political regimes to provide context for the struggles countries around the continent face as they grapple with the issues of human safety, security, and dignity.
War and Terrorism in Contemporary Africa by Bridey Heing; Caitlyn Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781502623843
War and Terrorism in Contemporary Africa investigates how African conflicts fit into both regional and global geopolitical landscapes. The book profiles terrorist organizations, rebel groups, and governments engaged in hostilities within the continent and beyond. War and Terrorism in Contemporary Africa also includes information about how these conflicts affect Africans' day-to-day lives.

World Geo Databases

The world’s most comprehensive collection of country culture articles for 175 countries. Topics include greetings and courtesies, gift giving, education, famous people, holidays, superstitions and folklore, history, media, women in culture, national cuisine, recipes, sports, stereotypes, maps, flags, religion, and more.

The world’s largest and most comprehensive database of food and food culture for 174 countries. This database includes 884 food culture articles, 6500 traditional recipes, 545 ingredient articles, historical timelines, glossaries, and 2,000 food quotes. Lavishly illustrated with 14,000 photos.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations -- from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Local experts document the unique, intimate details of each country's customs, traditions and daily life.

Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

Important figures, core beliefs, customs and practices, celebrations and holidays, momentous events, significant and sacred places, and more accompany descriptions of the essence of each religion, and daily updates and additions aid researchers in their examination of the continuously metamorphosing role of religion.

World Geography: Understanding a Changing World provides curriculum-aligned online tools that develop students' global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our
globalized world.

7th Grade: Africa

image banner

E-books

SweetSearch

E-books

World Geo Databases