LibGuides: 6th Grade Research: Ancient Mesopotamia

Mesopotamian websites

Ancient Mesopotamia
Chosen from the Mesopotamian collection of the Oriental Institute Museum of the University of Chicago, this website tells the story of ancient Mesopotamia now present-day Iraq — a story shared by all humans.
Ancient Mesopotamia-Ducksters
Ancient Mesopotamia from Mr. Donn
Mesopotamia-British Museum
The site is divided into ten ‘chapters' which address themes or topics relevant to the civilizations of Mesopotamia: Sumerian, Babylonian, and Assyrian. Chapters are Geography; Gods, Goddesses, Demons and Monsters; Time; Writing; Palaces of Assyria; Warfare; Astronomers of Babylon; Trade and Transport; The Royal Tombs of Ur; and Ziggurats.
Mesopotamia -Economy
Gives a good overview of items traded and imported in Mesopotamia

Mesopotamian E-books

To open these e-books login

UN: jclarke PW:jclarke

Mesopotamian Gods and Goddesses by Vincent Hale (Editor)
Call Number: 299 MES
ISBN: 9781622751624
Mesopotamian religion was one of the earliest religious systems to develop and in turn influence civilization. Followed by the Sumerians, Akkadians, Babylonians, and Assyrians, Mesopotamian religion and mythology reflected the complexities of these societies and has been preserved in remnants of their cultural, economic, and political institutions.
The Early River Valley Civilizations by Rebecca Kraft Rector
Call Number: 930.1 REC
ISBN: 9781499463286
The earliest civilizations developed in fertile river valleys, where the conditions were right to support large, settled populations. This book tracks how social hierarchies, religion, culture, written language, technology, and more developed first in Mesopotamia and then independently in the Nile, Indus, and Yellow River Valleys. A timeline helps readers get a better grasp of what developments were happening simultaneously in different parts of the world. This title will give readers a real appreciation for the contributions of each of these influential civilizations.

Login username: jclarke , passord: jclarke
Ancient Egypt and the Near East
Call Number: 932 ANC
ISBN: 9780761479345
Ancient Egypt and the Near East explores the early civilizations that developed in Egypt and Mesopotamia between the start of farming in the Nile Valley around 6000 BCE and the defeat of the Persians by Alexander the Great in 330 BCE.
Ancient Mesopotamian Technology by Kristi Holl
Call Number: 935 HOL
ISBN: 9781477789490
This informative resource will reveal that the ancient Mesopotamians were an innovative and forward-thinking people. They solved societal problems, such as regulating water to make sure they had a ready supply when they needed it. Readers will also be engaged throughout the volume with descriptions of their technological achievements, such as the construction of their cities, ziggurats, transportation, and weapons, just to name a few.
Ancient Mesopotamian Daily Life by Barbara Krasner
Call Number: 935 KRA
ISBN: 9781477789087
A day in the life of the average Mesopotamian was quite a bit different from the daily lives of most of us today. Learn about the overreaching class structure as well as the organization of the homes. The informative text informs readers about everything from the clothes they wore, to the jewelry they adorned themselves with, and to the ways they wore their hair.
Ancient Mesopotamian Culture by Barbara Krasner
Call Number: 935 KRA
ISBN: 9781477789049
This title will guide the eager reader through the cultural lives of the Mesopotamians. Readers will also get an overview of what their own education would have been like in Mesopotamian times. Ample color photographs provide context for the lives of these ancient peoples. Lively text teaches readers about the innovations in astronomy, mathematics, and literature, as well as music, dance, and more.
Ancient Mesopotamian Government and Geography by Laura La Bella
Call Number: 935 LAB
ISBN: 9781477789117
We often think of ancient times as simpler and more basic, but the ancient Mesopotamians were a complex society, in which people used their geography to their advantage. This informative resource explores the rise of the city-state as well as what led to their development, including the heights and densities of the buildings and levels of government. Readers will also learn how city-states differ from simple settlements. This thoroughly researched volume also delves into Mesopotamian empires and how the ancient Mesopotamians governed, such as by using a set of laws called the Code of Hammurabi.
Ancient Mesopotamian Religion and Beliefs by Laura Loria
Call Number: 935 LOR
ISBN: 9781499438086
The religion of ancient Mesopotamia was rich and varied. Readers will learn about the colorful major gods, as well as several lesser gods. They will also get insight into the structure and rituals of the religion, such as the roles of the priests and kings and their relationships to the gods. This instructive book also explains how astronomy and the constellations figured into their worship.
The Mesopotamians by Wil Mara
Call Number: 935 MAR
ISBN: 9781608707553
This book focuses on the discoveries and inventions of the ancient Mesopotamian civilization in the areas of transportation, agriculture, architecture, science, and technology.
The Mesopotamian Empires by Ellis Roxburgh
Call Number: 935 ROX
ISBN: 9781502606310
Mesopotamia is often considered the origin of civilization. Nestled on the Fertile Crescent, this empire created the first system of writing and improved farming and livestock so that specialization was possible.
The Decline of Ancient Mesopotamian Civilization by Xina M. Uhl
Call Number: 935 UHL
ISBN: 9781477789339
It may be hard to wrap one's head around how such a thriving people as the ancient Mesopotamians could fall. This volume offers readers a detailed overview of how this complex and intriguing people declined from their previous prosperity. The text explains the natural causes, such as drought, the structural issues, and invasions that led to the downfall of a civilization that nevertheless offers a lasting legacy.

To open these e-books, login with

username = clarke , password = ebook

Living in Ancient Mesopotamia by Norman Bancroft Hunt
Call Number: 935 BAN
ISBN: 9781438135427
Focuses on two ideal periods set in about 3500 BC (Sumer) and 1000 to 500 BC (Assyria and Babylonia). This book examines several aspects of daily life across various strata of society, from the kings and priests to the slaves; from food to religious beliefs. It is useful for students who want to learn more about life in ancient Mesopotamia.
Empires of Ancient Mesopotamia by Barbara A. Somervill; Leslie Schramer
Call Number: 935 SOM
ISBN: 9781438128856
Mesopotamia, the land between the Tigris and the Euphrates rivers, was the site of the world's first stable civilizations, including Sumer, Babylonia, and Assyria. This book details the development of this area, the growth of its city-states, the daily life of its people, and how their influence is still felt today.

To open these books,

ex. UN: 26Clarke3 PW: 123READnow

Technology in Ancient Mesopotamia by Charlie Samuels
Call Number: 935 SAM
ISBN: 9781433996436
Sure to draw readers in, the main historical content covers the many cultures of ancient Mesopotamia and their technological advances in many areas, from shipbuilding to farming. Fascinating artistic renderings of ziggurats, Mesopotamian cities, and how arrowheads were made using clay molds enhance each section, along with up-close photographs of artifacts and ancient craftwork.
Life in Ancient Mesopotamia by Don Nardo
Call Number: 935 NAR
ISBN: 978-1-60152-573-4
Discusses the history and lifestyles of the people on Ancient Mesopotamia.
Mesopotamia by Britannica Educational Publishing
Call Number: 935 MES
ISBN: 9781615305759
Responsible for the first writing system and home to elaborate kingdoms and societies, Mesopotamia has been aptly labeled as the birthplace of the worldOCOs first advanced civilizations. Although much remains unknown about the life and structure of Mesopotamia, the writings and artifacts left behind have shed elucidating light on a number of its significant developments and technological advances. This absorbing volume explores Sumer, Babylon, and the other early settlements that flourished in the enchanting land between the Tigris and Euphrates."
Discover ancient Mesopotamia by Stephen Feinstein.
Call Number: 935 FEI
ISBN: 9781464611889
Learn about the art and cultural contributions, family life, religions and people of ancient Mesopotamia.
Tools and Treasures of Ancient Mesopotamia by Matt Doeden
Call Number: 935 DOE
ISBN: 9781467725071
How often do you write or read? Do you live in or near a city? Writing and cities both began in ancient Mesopotamia. Find out where the ancient Mesopotamians lived, what their lives were like, and what happened to them.

Encyclopedias

Multi-grade level encyclopedia with additional related magazine and journal articles as well as selected websites, an atlas and Britannica in Spanish.

The content of World Book Encyclopedia is available here but with constant updating, special reports, and online links. When you find an article you want, you can e-mail it to yourself or print it.

Databases for Ancient Civilizations

Daily Life through History explores ordinary life through time and across the globe,bringing the past to life through details and insights that turn flat descriptions of historical characters into real, "just like me" human beings.

Ranging from the dawn of prehistory through the great ancient empires to the beginning of the Renaissance, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras helps students grasp the significance of every area of the world, including Asia, Africa, and the Americas.

World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Multi-Topic

Multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas content sets such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology

High quality news articles on a wide range of topics that students can adjust to their reading level.

6th Grade Research: Ancient Mesopotamia

HOME ACCESS

WATCH RESEARCH INSTRUCTIONS FROM MS. KELLY

Mesopotamian websites

Mesopotamian E-books

Encyclopedias

Databases for Ancient Civilizations

Multi-Topic