National Park: Resources

Acadia National Park in Maine has been home to inhabitants ranging from the Wabanaki Indians to millionaires such as John D. Rockefeller, Jr., who donated thousands of acres to the park and established its system of carriage roads. Author Amy Graham helps readers learn all about the park's founding, rich history, and varied attractions, including Cadillac Mountain, Thunder Hole, Jordan Pond, a boreal forest, and tide pools. Details about all of the resident wildlife are here, along with pointers on how to prevent pollution and "leave no trace" during a visit. Graham covers fun local activities like hiking andr biking along carriage roads and visiting Sand Beach, the Abbe Museum, and Bass Harbor Head Light.

Children's Press is pleased to introduce True Books for a new generation Completely redesigned for today's young, investigative reader, True Books are an indispensable addition to any collection. Each book guides the reader through the facts that nurture their need to know.The new, dynamic True Books design features: -- an inviting and interactive page format -- a readable and attractive typeface -- large, bold, and brilliant full-color photographsThe True Books series takes the young reader beyond the standard, fact-filled text by adding avenues for further discovery. Each book includes a variety of sidebars, highlighting extra facts that will fascinate children. In the Important Words section, young readers will find a glossary of words that will both challenge and expand their vocabulary. Each book includes a To Find Out More section, where every curious reader can find a list of related books to read and organizations to contact.True Books also point readers to the vast electronic universe of information on the Internet. Each book will list: -- e-mail addresses to help the reader contact individuals and organizations -- appropriate newsgroups and mailing lists -- FTP sites to download fun and useful softwareBegun in the 1950s, True Books are universally embraced as the definitive nonfiction series for young readers. Now in its third incarnation, the True Books series has once again evolved to meet the needs and tastes of modern readers and educators.

Alaska's Denali National Park and Preserve includes more than 6 million acres of rugged, untamed wilderness. Author David Aretha tells the compelling story of Denali's history, including climbers who have lost their lives trying to reach the summit of Mount McKinley, and the wildlife found there. Learn about the glaciers, lakes, and tundra in the park, the hundreds of small earthquakes that occur there each year, and activities like sled dog demonstrations and hiking.

Ideal for today's young investigative reader, each A True Book includes lively sidebars, a glossary and index, plus a comprehensive "To Find Out More" section listing books, organizations, and Internet sites. A staple of library collections since the 1950s, the new A True Book series is the definitive nonfiction series for elementary school readers.

The area now known as Great Smoky Mountains National Park, which straddles the border between North Carolina and Tennessee, was once the ancestral land of the Cherokee Indians. In addition to the history of the region and its early settlers, readers can learn about exploring highlights of the Smokies like Mount LeConte, Clingmans Dome, and the Appalachian Trail. Author Amy Graham discusses the park's resident plants and animals—it's known as the "salamander capital of the world"—as well as invasive species like the wild boar and woolly adelgid. Fun activities such as hiking, camping, visiting the Mountain Farm Museum and taking wildflower tours are also featured.

Children's Press is pleased to introduce True Books for a new generation Completely redesigned for today's young, investigative reader, True Books are an indispensable addition to any collection. Each book guides the reader through the facts that nurture their need to know.The new, dynamic True Books design features: -- an inviting and interactive page format -- a readable and attractive typeface -- large, bold, and brilliant full-color photographsThe True Books series takes the young reader beyond the standard, fact-filled text by adding avenues for further discovery. Each book includes a variety of sidebars, highlighting extra facts that will fascinate children. In the Important Words section, young readers will find a glossary of words that will both challenge and expand their vocabulary. Each book includes a To Find Out More section, where every curious reader can find a list of related books to read and organizations to contact.True Books also point readers to the vast electronic universe of information on the Internet. Each book will list: -- e-mail addresses to help the reader contact individuals and organizations -- appropriate newsgroups and mailing lists -- FTP sites to download fun and useful softwareBegun in the 1950s, True Books are universally embraced as the definitive nonfiction series for young readers. Now in its third incarnation, the True Books series has once again evolved to meet the needs and tastes of modern readers and educators.

Ideal for today's young investigative reader, each A True Book includes lively sidebars, a glossary and index, plus a comprehensive "To Find Out More" section listing books, organizations, and Internet sites. A staple of library collections since the 1950s, the new A True Book series is the definitive nonfiction series for elementary school readers.

Its terrain carved by glaciers about 2 million years ago, Rocky Mountain National Park includes some of the most breathtaking views in all of North America. People come from all over to hike and ski the park's trails and to catch a glimpse of the abundant wildlife living within the park. The park is home to over a hundred different types of butterflies, many small mammals, elk, bighorn sheep, and mountain lions to name just a few. Learn how people and foundations are working to keep the park vital so that it can be enjoyed for generations. Book jacket.

Ideal for today's young investigative reader, each A True Book includes lively sidebars, a glossary and index, plus a comprehensive "To Find Out More" section listing books, organizations, and Internet sites. A staple of library collections since the 1950s, the new A True Book series is the definitive nonfiction series for elementary school readers.

In Wyoming, the wide-open plains meet the Rocky Mountains. Even though it has the smallest population of any state, Wyoming is home to such iconic landmarks as Devil's Tower and Old Faithful. From women's suffrage to rodeos, kids will learn all about this unique state.

Follow Tom Moran on an unbelievable real-life adventure! In the summer of 1871, a young painter named Thomas Moran joined a team of scientists heading for the untamed land called ?the Yellowstone.' He couldn't believe what he found there'steaming cauldrons of sulfur, belching geysers, even a thousand-foot-deep canyon. Tom had never ridden a horse or slept under the stars before, but the paintings he created on his journey from city boy to seasoned explorer would lead to the founding of America's first national park. Trained as a fine artist, Lita Judge captures the wild and rugged beauty of Yellowstone in this stunning book she's wanted to write her whole life.

Yellowstone, America's first national park, covers more than 3,400 square miles and is widely known as the home of the Old Faithful geyser, grizzly bears, and the bald eagle. Its unique landscape, shaped hundreds of thousands of years ago by supervolcanos and glacial melting, includes natural wonders like steam vents, colorful hot spring pools, canyons, and towering waterfalls. Author David Aretha tells the fascinating tale of the park's history and the variety of wildlife found in the park, including elk, bison, moose and gray wolves. Coverage of controversies such as snowmobile access and wolf management efforts is included, as well as a full inventory of visitor attractions.

An introduction to the national park best known for its dramatic thermal features.