Ms. Rodrigues' Instructions
Tuesday's Class
Hi Class.
After the substitute takes attendance, they will take you to the library. At the library, Ms. Tanguay is presenting you a lesson on SOURCES OF INFORMATION. The lesson includes a review and practice of CART in addition to showing you science databases/encyclopedias that are available to you.
I expect you to hand in:
1) Double sided “CART” handout (on paper). One side is filled out during the activity Ms. Tanguay does with you. The other side is filled out for two of the sources that you have already used in your research.
2) Added to your research/notes page (in Google Doc): Notes about your cell part structure and function taken from a science database or encyclopedia.
Any extra time, you can continue work on your presentation.
Remember, you will be hanging up your QR codes on Thursday during class.
Today's Lesson
K2 SCIENCE
|
Today's Lesson:
Handouts:
|
 |
If there's time after this lesson, continue working on your project
(see Ms. Rodrigues' instructions)
EVALUATE THESE WEBSITES
Evaluate these websites
using CART criteria:
Evaluate these websites
using CART criteria:
SCIENCE & HEALTH DATABASES
Health & Science:
Teen Health & Wellness
Provides comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Developed for teens, all content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling.
Science in Context
A comprehensive selection of the finest science content available. Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects from obesity to endangered species. Full-text articles from national and global newspapers, magazines and journals and a media-rich selection of videos, audios, podcasts, images and interactives.
Core Concepts Biology
A comprehensive selection of the finest biology content available. Core Concepts Biology features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects like Animal Systems, Cell Biology, and Plant Structures. Full-text articles from national and global newspapers, magazines and journals and a media-rich selection of videos, audios, podcasts, images and interactives.
Core Concepts Chemistry
A comprehensive selection of the finest chemisty content available. Core Concepts Chemistry features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects like Atoms and Molecules; Biochemistry; and Organic Chemistry. Full-text articles from national and global newspapers, magazines and journals and a media-rich selection of videos, audios, podcasts, images and interactives.
Core Concepts Periodic Table
A comprehensive selection of the finest periodic table content available. The Core Concepts Periodic Table provides the ability to click for descriptions of elements as well as an Element Builder feature. Full-text articles from national and global newspapers, magazines and journals and a media-rich selection of videos, audios, podcasts, images.