Skip to main content

Sullivan Library at WDMS: Grade 7 Research Guides

GRADE 7 RESEARCH GUIDE

globe icon    Grade 7 Research Guide     

NEWS


These news sources require that you have an account:

SEARCH FOLLETT DESTINY

MULTI-TOPIC DATABASES

SIRS Researcher icon

TOPIC FINDER

Try the Topic Finder!

Start with one search term,
discover more.
Explore hundreds of
topics and subtopics.

topic finder

USING WIKIPEDIA FOR ACADEMIC RESEARCH

NOODLETOOLS ACCESS

Cite your sources
with NoodleTools!

noodletools button


Have a NoodleTools question?
NoodleTools Help Desk


SHORTCUTS

SHORTCUTS

#1: Import a citation from a GALE database into NoodleTools:


#2: Use a book's ISBN to create a citation:


#3: Cite websites with
Apogee2

Apogee2 icon
Search Chrome Web Store for: Apogee2 (no space) and add.
CITING WITH APOGEE2
Copy and paste the citation into NoodleTools.

Q & A

Q&A: Database vs Website

Q: What is a database?
A: A database is a collection of articles from newspapers, journals, magazines, and reference materials organized in a way that can be easily searched.

Q: What is the purpose of a database?
A: Databases exist to store information and to allow students to search for and find information within the database. Our school library catalog is an example of a database. It contains data about all our library materials and it can be searched by keyword.

Q: What is a website?
A: A website is a collection of web pages made available on the Internet by an individual, a company, an educational institution, a government, or an organization.

Q: What is the purpose of a website?
A: Websites exist for a variety of purposes: to inform, entertain, persuade, sell products. Not all websites are appropriate for academic research. Students are encouraged to evaluate information from the Internet.

Q: What are some differences between a database and a website?
A: Databases contain fact-checked information. The LPS Library Department pays for our databases in order to provide students with access to high-quality information. Students evaluate information from databases based on whether the information is helpful, not whether information is credible. Websites are free to use and can contain quality information - or not, depending on their purpose. Websites aren't always fact-checked. Before using a website for academic research students should evaluate whether the information is credible, accessible, relevant to their topic, and trustworthy.

Q: When should students use a database?
A: Databases are a reliable source of information any time students need credible, trustworthy information for academic research.