Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sullivan Library at WDMS: Library Databases

LIBRARY DATABASES

LIBRARY DATABASES
Information You Can Trust

Some of these databases are password protected.
Email Ms Nickerson if you need the list of passwords.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Start your research with an encyclopedia:


Multi-grade level  encyclopedia with additional related magazine and journal articles
as well as selected websites, an atlas and Britannica in Spanish.

The content of World Book Encyclopedia is available here but with constant updating, special reports,
and online links. You can e-mail articles to yourself or print them.

WHY USE A DATABASE?

Ancient Civilizations

Ancient Civilizations:


World History in Context

World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.


Daily Life Through History

Daily Life through History explores ordinary life through time and across the globe,bringing the past to life through details and insights that turn flat descriptions of historical characters into real, "just like me" human beings.


World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras

Ranging from the dawn of prehistory through the great ancient empires to the beginning of the Renaissance, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras helps students grasp the significance of every area of the world, including Asia, Africa, and the Americas.

World Geography / World Language

World Geography & World Language:


CultureGrams
Concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations -- from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Local experts document the unique, intimate details of each country's customs, traditions and daily life.

ABC World Culture button
ABC World Culture
The world’s most comprehensive collection of country culture articles for 175 countries. Topics include greetings and courtesies, gift giving, education, famous people, holidays, superstitions and folklore, history, media, women in culture, national cuisine, recipes, sports, stereotypes, maps, flags, religion, and more.

ABC World Food button
ABC World Food
The world’s largest and most comprehensive database of food and food culture for 174 countries. This database includes 884 food culture articles, 6500 traditional recipes, 545 ingredient articles, historical timelines, glossaries, and 2,000 food quotes. Lavishly illustrated with 14,000 photos.


World Geography
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World provides curriculum-aligned online tools that develop students' global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world. 


Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.


World Religions
Important figures, core beliefs, customs and practices, celebrations and holidays, momentous events, significant and sacred places, and more accompany descriptions of the essence of each religion, and daily updates and additions aid researchers in their examination of the continuously metamorphosing role of religion.

News

News Resources:

newsela
How to cite Newsela articles
News articles on a variety of topics that allow you to select reading level.  Login is required. 

   

TweenTribune

News for students that includes text, photos, graphics, and audio and/or video materials prepared by the Smithsonian and others about current events, history, art, culture and science and available at different grade level reading.


The Boston Globe
Search full text articles published in the Globe from 1980-present.


InfoTrac Student Edition
InfoTrac Student Edition is designed for middle- and high-school students and provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.


The New York Times
Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985).

Multi-Topic Databases

Multi-Topic Resources:

SIRS Discoverer button
SIRS Discoverer
Multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas content sets such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology


Research in Context

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

SIRS Researcher button
SIRS Issues Researcher

Thousands of documents, primary source documents, websites, and multimedia (including 13,000+ research-quality images) represent viewpoints from the pros and cons, to everything in-between.

PebbleGo
Discover animals and learn about new people.

HOW TO USE A DATABASE

U.S. History

U.S. History:


U.S. History in Context
U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.


American Government
American Government provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system that supports any curriculum or research project focused on the government of the United States.


American History
American History illuminates American politics, science, culture, philosophy, and economics to explore the ongoing development of the United States, while putting past events in context with modern times.


Daily Life Through History
Daily Life through History explores ordinary life through time and across the globe, bringing the past to life through details and insights that turn flat descriptions of historical characters into real, "just like me" human beings.


Need Primary Sources? Try These Websites:



 

English Language Arts

English Language Arts:


Biography in Context
Biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Sources are from over 800 volumes of reference books. Also includes full-text magazine articles.

Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. 

Health & Science

Health & Science:

Teen Health & Wellness button
Teen Health & Wellness
Provides comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Developed for teens, all content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling.


Science in Context
A comprehensive selection of the finest science content available. Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects from obesity to endangered species. Full-text articles from national and global newspapers, magazines and journals and a media-rich selection of videos, audios, podcasts, images and interactives.

biology icon
Core Concepts Biology
A comprehensive selection of the finest biology content available. Core Concepts Biology features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects like Animal Systems, Cell Biology, and Plant Structures. Full-text articles from national and global newspapers, magazines and journals and a media-rich selection of videos, audios, podcasts, images and interactives.

chemistry icon
Core Concepts Chemistry
A comprehensive selection of the finest chemisty content available. Core Concepts Chemistry features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects like Atoms and Molecules; Biochemistry; and Organic Chemistry. Full-text articles from national and global newspapers, magazines and journals and a media-rich selection of videos, audios, podcasts, images and interactives.

periodic table icon
Core Concepts Periodic Table
A comprehensive selection of the finest periodic table content available. The Core Concepts Periodic Table provides the ability to click for descriptions of elements as well as an Element Builder feature. Full-text articles from national and global newspapers, magazines and journals and a media-rich selection of videos, audios, podcasts, images.