LibGuides: Make a Change: Home

Websites

ProCon.org
Pros and cons of debatable issues, as well reference information relevant to those issues.
All Sides
Pros and cons of debatable issues as well reference information relevant to those issues.

Find Government Docs Online

The Supreme Court of the United States
Supreme court opinions, decisions, oral arguments, and case documents.
Congress.gov
Search this website to find bills associated with your topics.

Search Executive Orders from Franklin Roosevelt to Barack Obama in the National Archives here.

Search Registered Executive Orders from Clinton to Trump here.

Tips from the Pros!

If you come across a website that will not let you access information without a "donation"...RUN AWAY!

Databases...Go here first!

SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides insight into social issues by delivering the pros and cons from selected documents and graphics curated from over 2,000 global sources.
Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Provides context, diverse perspectives, and selected primary and secondary sources for understanding the issues that currently affect global society.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
The American Mosaic: The African American Experience gives voice to the African American experience from its African origins to the present day
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Analyzes important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.

Find Special Interest Groups

Reminder: Special interest groups and lobbying groups, by definition, have a specific point of view but may also have some good research information. Proceed with that in mind.

PACS

Government website that gives brief descriptions about types of PACs. On the right-hand side, has links to SuperPACs and hybrid-PACs lists.

Ten of the biggest political action committees.

Political Non-Profits

Quick of top social justice Political Non-Profits, links and descriptions.

Thorough list of Civil Rights organizations with descriptions and links.

Lobbying Groups

The 20 companies and groups that spend the most money to influence lawmakers. The title says it all.

Top Spenders. Companies and organizations that spend the most on trying to influence lawmakers.

Website Evaluation

Evaluating Websites

The CRAP Test

Evaluate Websites Using these Criteria

Currency, Relevance, Authority and Purpose/Point of View

Currency

How recent is the information?
How recently was the site updated?
Is it current enough for your topic?

Relevance

Does the information add to or support your research?
Does the site provide additional links that are also useful?
Does the site provide more or less information than you need?

Authority

Who is the author/creator?
What are their credentials or connections to the subject?
What institution are they affiliated with?
Who is the publisher or sponsor?

Purpose/Point of View

Is the information fact, opinion, a spoof or a commercial?
It it biased?
Are all sides of an issue represented?

(adapted from Rohrbough LibGuide, OSU)

Stuck?

Be Sure to Cite Your Sources

NoodleTools

Google Meet

Want to video chat with us?

Contact us and we can set up a time to Google Meet together, one-on-one or as a group. Stop by the library or email us at lhs-library@lexingtonma.org with questions or to set up a time!

Make a Change: Home

Civics