Skip to Main Content
Time to Travel! and/or Time Travel. You Choose...
The WORLD is your oyster. Where and When would you like to go? What would you see? Whom might you meet? Have FUN wth this project.
Start HERE with Reference!
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Articles from Encyclopaedia Britannica, related magazine and journal articles, an atlas, and other reference sources.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window
Includes five encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science.
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, and empires and profiles city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient and medieval world; encompasses intellectual developments, wars and cooperation, religion, cultural practices from prehistory through to the beginning of the Renaissance
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Provides for comprehensive study of the emergence of the modern world, covering the history of the world from 1500 to the present.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more.
World Religions (ABC- Clio) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 50 religions practiced throughout the world, including those that have flourished and those that have disappeared. Explores important figures, core beliefs, customs and practices, celebrations and holidays, momentous events, significant and sacred places, and more.
History View Virtual Tours
HistoryView partners with museums, art galleries, historical heritage sites and schools to create VR Field Trips of exhibits and events.
Sacred Journeys with Bruce Feiler
Bring concepts in comparative religion and geography to life in this collection of media resources from Sacred Journeys with Bruce Feiler. Follow the author and adventurer as he travels to the sites of six historic pilgrimages: Varanasi, India (Hinduism); the island of Shikoku, Japan (Buddhism); Mecca and Medina in Saudi Arabia (Islam); Jerusalem, Israel (Judaism, Islam, Christianity); Lourdes, France (Christianity); and Osogbo, Nigeria (Yoruba)
UNESCO-World Heritage List
The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity.
UNESCO World Heritage Sites Virtual Tour
From the Great Barrier Reef in Australia to Mont St. Michel in France, there are endless UNESCO World Heritage sites around the globe. Each UNESCO World Heritage Site has a special flair that is unique to its location, geography, or history. We’ve put together a virtual tour of some of our favorite UNESCO sites for you to escape to right now!
Three well-known travel guides' websites:
Lexington High School Library Media Center