Skip to main content

US History: Databases

Important Links

Encyclopedias

Multi-grade level  encyclopedia with additional related magazine and journal articles as well as selected websites, an atlas and Britannica in Spanish.

 

         

The content of World Book Encyclopedia is available here but with constant updating, special reports, and online links. When you find an article you want, you can e-mail it to yourself or print it.

Biographies

"Biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas." Sources are from over 800 volumes of reference books. Also includes full-text magazine articles.

US History Databases

American Government provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system that supports any curriculum or research project focused on the government of the United States.

Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African American history and culture.

American History illuminates American politics, science, culture, philosophy, and economics to explore the ongoing development of the United States, while putting past events in context with modern times.

Daily Life through History explores ordinary life through time and across the globe,bringing the past to life through details and insights that turn flat descriptions of historical characters into real, "just like me" human beings.

U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

 

With more than 60 multimedia units spanning 10 core areas of study, Freedom Flix offers students a behind-the-scenes look at the people, places, and events that shaped our world. Engage even the most reluctant readers with this dynamic, interactive digital resource!

Keywords with Power Search

 
Use the power search to help locate and identify keywords in your research. Search for your topic then look for the Analyze Topic Finder at the lower right.

SweetSearch