LibGuides: U.S. Expansion and Growth Annotated Bibliography: Home

US History Databases

American Government provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system that supports any curriculum or research project focused on the government of the United States.

Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African American history and culture.

American History illuminates American politics, science, culture, philosophy, and economics to explore the ongoing development of the United States, while putting past events in context with modern times.

Daily Life through History explores ordinary life through time and across the globe,bringing the past to life through details and insights that turn flat descriptions of historical characters into real, "just like me" human beings.

U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

E-books for Project

The Scotch-Irish Immigration to America: economic hardship in Ireland (1603-1775) by Shane Heaney
Call Number: 304.80973 HEA
ISBN: 9781508140993
It took the Scotch-Irish two major migrations before finding their home in America. Readers will follow the Scotch-Irish as they move from Scotland to Ireland, finding their own set of challenges there. Faced with famine and drought, the Scotch then moved to America. Readers will learn about the pioneering spirit of the Scotch Irish as they settle on the American frontier and built a strong cultural legacy.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
The Chinese Exclusion ACT of 1882 by John Robert Soennichsen
Call Number: 305.895 SOE
ISBN: 9780313379475
The Chinese Exclusion Act contains the phrase endangering the Good Order, reflecting the notion that all actions against the Chinese in Americaaelegal or otherwiseaewere justified by the need to preserve the good order of established society in the United States. Ironically, some of the worst perpetrators of violence against the Chinese in the late 1800s were members of other immigrant minority group

Login with your school username/password.
The California Gold Rush: Chinese Laborers in America (1848-1882) by Steve Wilson
Call Number: 305.895 WIL
ISBN: 9781508140658
Immigration from China to the United States coincided with the California gold rush. Attracted by the riches "Gold Mountain" had to offer, Chinese immigrants in search of a better life left China in droves in the mid-to-late 19th century. Readers will learn what hardships and successes Chinese immigrants faced when they arrived in the United States through a detailed examination of the push/pull factors that caused thousands of Chinese to leave their home. Important topics such as the growth of the railroad and anti-immigration policies help readers understand the big-picture perspective of Chinese immigration in America.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
The Disaster of the Irish Potato Famine: Irish Immigrants Arrive in America (1845-1850) by Sean O'Donoghue
Call Number: 305.8916 O'DO
ISBN: 9781508140702
This book introduces readers to the Irish potato famine, a period when many Irish people were forced to make a decision: leave their homeland or starve. Readers will learn about the injustices the Irish faced in Ireland, as well as the challenges they faced when they reached the United States. The book also explains the success the Irish found after much hard work, and the legacy they left in America.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
Slavery in America by Ciara Campbell (Editor)
Call Number: 306.3 CAM
ISBN: 9781680480382
In this illuminating text, the origins of the slave trade in Africa and the effects of the practice of slavery on the political and economic history of the United States are explored. King Cotton, the slave hierarchy on southern plantations, the relationship of the slaveholders and slaves, the slave codes that regulated the absolute control of slaves, the ensuing slave rebellions, and the abolitionist movement and those who spoke out against the atrocities of slavery are among the many topics examined in this comprehensive historical resource.
Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
Slave Rebellions by Robin S. Doak; Philip Schwarz
Call Number: 306.3 DOA
ISBN: 9781438106526
The transatlantic slave trade and the fugitive slave laws in the late 18th century led to a significant increase in the number of people seeking freedom. Runaway slaves were often aided in their escape by a growing network of people who saw slavery as morally reprehensible. This work explores this intriguing time in American history.

Login with your school username / password
Slave Narratives and the Writings of Freedmen by Caitlyn Paley
Call Number: 306.3 PAL
ISBN: 9781502605252
Learn about slavery and the fight for freedom in this book examining the stories of slave narratives and their effect on the abolitionist movement of the United States. The book is complete with timeline, primary sources, photographs, and excerpts from the time period.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
The Monroe Doctrine by Edward Renehan
Call Number: 327.73 REN
ISBN: 9781438104270
In 1823, President James Monroe expressed his opinion to Congress that European powers should not be permitted to interfere in the affairs of the sovereign states of the Americas. However, the United States did not follow the terms of its own policy.

Login username: clarke password: ebook
The U. S. Industrial Revolution by Robert Grayson
Call Number: 330.973 GRA
ISBN: 9781617587979
Essential Events explores historic happenings around the globe and how those events have sculpted societies, the sciences, and politics.

Login with your school username/password.
Legal Debates of the Antislavery Movement by Alison Morretta
Call Number: 342.73 MOR
ISBN: 9781502605276
The abolition of slavery was debated for years in the courts of the United States.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
The Transcontinental Railroad by Edward Renehan
Call Number: 385.0979 REN
ISBN: 9781438104294
In May 1869, the US railroad network unified when the Central Pacific and Union Pacific railroads came together in Promontory, Utah. This book discusses the important milestone in the expansion of the United States and its impact on the nation, both positive and negative.

Login with your school username / password
The Erie Canal by Tim McNeese
Call Number: 386 MCN
ISBN: 9781438119816
In The Erie Canal: Linking the Great Lakes, read how this manmade waterway that extends from Lake Erie in Buffalo, New York, to the Hudson River in Albany helped shape the future of the Empire State.

Login with your school username / password
Across America by Maurice Isserman
Call Number: 917.8 ISS
ISBN: 9781438128818
Describes the expedition led by Lewis and Clark to explore the unknown western regions of America at the beginning of the nineteenth century.

Login username: clarke password: ebook
Manifest Destiny by Shane Mountjoy
Call Number: 973 MOU
ISBN: 9781438119830
Explores how the concepts and ideals of the Manifest Destiny influenced United States history and helped shape modern foreign policy.

Login with your school username / password
The Raid on Harpers Ferry by Samuel Willard Crompton
Call Number: 973.7 CRO
ISBN: 9781438131757
In October 1859, a group of 22 men led by abolitionist John Brown sought to ignite a slave revolt. They believed that a violent rebellion was the only way to change the system and bring down slavery's hold on the South.

Login username: clarke password: ebook
American Indian Removal and the Trail to Wounded Knee by Kevin Hillstrom; Laurie Collier Hillstrom
Call Number: 973.8 HIL
ISBN: 9780780811317
Provides a detailed account of American Indian Removal policy and its culmination at the massacre at Wounded Knee, including its social and political legacy in modern America. Includes a narrative overview, biographies, primary source documents, and other helpful features.

Login with your school username / password
A Primary Source Investigation of the Trail of Tears by Jeremy Klar; Ann Byers
Call Number: 975.004 KLA
ISBN: 9781499435160
The story of the Cherokee Nation and its tragic displacement by early colonial settlers is an integral part of American history. Here that tale is told through an investigation of primary sources related to the historic episode. Images and textual transcriptions are presented of such historical documents as presidential addresses, treaties, and the Cherokee constitution.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
Trail of Tears by Sue Vander Hook
Call Number: 975.004 VAN
ISBN: 9781616133344
Essential Events explores historic happenings around the globe and how those events have sculpted societies, the sciences, and politics.

Login with your school username/password
The Acquisition of Florida by Liz Sonneborn
Call Number: 975.9 SON
ISBN: 9781438119793
The United States took formal possession of Florida in 1821, and the state was admitted to the Union in 1845. Read the fascinating history in The Acquisition of Florida: America's Twenty-seventh State.

Login with your school username / password
A Primary Source Investigation of the Alamo by Susanna Keller; Janey Levy
Call Number: 976.4 KEL
ISBN: 9781499435085
This volume traces the Alamo's history, from the Native American peoples who lived in the area when the mission was first built through the continuing efforts to preserve the historic site. Particular attention is paid to the Battle of the Alamo and how the bravery of its defenders inspired Texans during the Texas War of Independence.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
Texas and the Mexican War by Kate Shoup
Call Number: 976.4 SHO
ISBN: 9781502609656
Following Texan independence from Mexico, the United States led a campaign to re-annex the territory, as well as threaten Mexican holdings in the Southwest. Discover the circumstances to the war, including the Texan battle for independence, as well as the effects of war in Texas and the Mexican War.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
The Dream of Manifest Destiny by Nick Christopher
Call Number: 978 CHR
ISBN: 9781508140757
"Manifest Destiny" was the belief that the United States was meant to reach from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean. The story of how it was achieved is full of excitement, which readers discover as they explore this pivotal period in American history.

Login with your school username / password
The Expanding Frontier by Enzo George
Call Number: 978 GEO
ISBN: 9781502602473
Examine the causes, circumstances, and effects of westward expansion in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries through the eyes of pioneers and explorers.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
Oregon Trail by Marcia Amidon Lusted
Call Number: 978 LUS
ISBN: 9781617876516
Essential Events explores historic happenings around the globe and how those events have sculpted societies, the sciences, and politics.

Login with your school username / password
The Oregon Trail by Tim McNeese
Call Number: 978 MCN
ISBN: 9781438119823
Explores the history of the Oregon Trail and the time of the Westward expansion between the 1840s and the 1860s.

Login with your school username / password
Bleeding Kansas by Richard Reece
Call Number: 978.1 REE
ISBN: 9781614784456
Essential Events explores historic happenings around the globe and how those events have sculpted societies, the sciences, and politics.

Login with your school username / password
A Primary Source Investigation of the Gold Rush by Melanie Gildenstein; Kerri O'Donnell
Call Number: 979.4 GIL
ISBN: 9781499435122
Countless characters crossed great distances to fulfill their dreams of obtaining riches in the golden land of "El Dorado." The great rush to California's goldfields from points around the globe changed the face of California and transformed the United States, a young country still grappling with the growing pains of its fairly new independence.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
John Brown and Armed Resistance to Slavery by Rebecca Stefoff
Call Number: B BROWN
ISBN: 9781502605351
John Brown and his violent attacks on slavery have been romanticized through the years. Find out about the man behind the myth and learn about his contribution to the abolitionist movement.

Login username: jclarke password: jclarke
Sacagawea by Hal Marcovitz
Call Number: B SACAGAWEA
ISBN: 9781438146966
Presents a biography of the Native American young woman who served as interpreter for the Lewis and Clark Expedition.

Login username: clarke password: ebook

U.S. Expansion and Growth Annotated Bibliography: Home

Search Destiny

US History Databases

E-books for Project

SweetSearch